Al Jamal’s research on origami-inspired phased array antennas represents a quantum leap in antenna reconfigurability at mm-wave frequencies and a paradigm shift in massive MIMO applications and beyond-5G communication.

The ECE Ph.D. candidate was one of 10 people to receive the grant. The design aims to reduce energy consumption when performing power-intensive processes, like AI computing.

Dimitrova plans on using the scholarship to continue her studies and research, focusing on electric energy systems and circuit technology threads.

A team from the Opportunity Research Scholars Program installed a solar microgrid system in homes in Thoman, Haiti.

ECE Professors Faramarz Fekri and Xiaoli Ma have been elected as IEEE Fellows, effective January 1, 2016.

ECE Professor Ian F. Akyildiz has been named as the recipient of the 2017 IEEE Communications Society Technical Committee on Cognitive Networks (TCCN) Recognition Award. 

ECE Associate Professor Maryam Saeedifard has been chosen for the 2018 IEEE Industrial Electronics Society (IES) J. David Irwin Early Career Award.

Four Georgia Tech faculty members were named IEEE Fellows, effective January 1, 2018. They are BME Professor Jaydev Desai, ECE Professors Saibal Mukhopadhyay and Justin Romberg, and GTRI Senior Research Engineer Kevin James “Jim” Sangston.

Five Georgia Tech faculty members have been elected as IEEE Fell

Emmanouil M. (Manos) Tentzeris is an IEEE Distinguished Lecturer

Ron Harley has been named recipient of the IEEE Richard Harold K

Shreyas Sen received a 2008 IEEE MTT-S Graduate Fellowship Award

ECE Professor Biing Hwang (Fred) Juang has been named as the recipient of the 2014 IEEE James L. Flanagan Speech and Audio Processing Award.

ECE Professor Rao Tummala will receive an IEEE CPMT Award.

ECE student Ana Yepes wins an IEEE AP-S Predoctoral Research Awa

ECE Professor Manos Tentzeris will receive the IEEE Best Paper A

Two College of Computing professors and one College of Computing student participated in panels during the Women's Leadership Summit.

Professor Azad Naeemi, School of Electrical and Computer Engineering and the Institute for Electronics and Nanotechnology, will be representing Georgia Tech in the debate with his solution, “Nano/novel materials or devices to the rescue”.

Georgia Tech sends 30 professors and researchers to present nine papers at the International Parallel & Distributed Processing Symposium in Phoenix this week.

She is the first Georgia Tech student to receive this Semiconductor Interface Specialist Conference award.

The award was established by SSCS last year in honor of former ECE professor Jim Meindl, who passed away in 2020.

Six Georgia Tech faculty members were named IEEE Fellows, effective January 1, 2022. They are Ghassan AlRegib, Levent Degertekin, Bonnie Ferri, Arijit Raychowdhury, Maryam Saeedifard, and May Dongmei Wang.

ECE Professor Xiaoli Ma has been elected to the IEEE Signal Processing Society (SPS) Board of Governors in the capacity of Member-at-Large for the 2022-2024 term.

John D. Cressler and Justin K. Romberg, both faculty members from the Georgia Tech School of Electrical and Computer Engineering (ECE), have been awarded with two of the most prestigious honors presented by the IEEE.

Rao Tummala, a professor emeritus in the Georgia Tech School of Electrical and Computer Engineering (ECE), has been honored with having an IEEE Technical Field Award named in his honor – the IEEE Rao Tummala Electronics Packaging Award.

The Georgia Tech student branch chapter of the IEEE Power and Energy Society (PES) was awarded the 2nd place prize for IEEE Region 1-7, which covers the United States and Canada, in the 2020 PES High Performing Student Branch Chapter Program.

ECE Professor John Cressler will receive the 2020 Outstanding Educator Award from the IEEE Atlanta Section at a virtual banquet hosted by the group on November 10.

ECE Ph.D. student Siddharth Ravichandran has been chosen for the IEEE Electronics Packaging Society (EPS) Ph.D. Fellowship Award.

Erik Verriest has been named the Giovanni Prodi Chair in Mathematics at the Ludwig Maximilian University of Wuerzburg for the 2020 summer semester.

ECE Professor Russell D. Dupuis was presented with the Materials Today Innovation Award at the 2019 Materials Research Society Fall Meeting and Exhibit, held December 1-6 in Boston, Massachusetts. 

ECE Professor A.P. Sakis Meliopoulos was awarded the title of Doctor Honoris Causa (Honorary Professor) of the School of Electrical and Computer Engineering (ECE) at the National Technical University of Athens in Athens, Greece.

ECE sophomore Pradyot Yadav won first place in the Student Design Competition at the 2019 International Microwave Symposium (IMS), held June 4-6 in Boston, Massachusetts.