Suman Debnath and Maryam Saeedifard have been named the recipients of the IEEE Industrial Electronics Society (IES) Best Trans. Paper Award authored by a graduate student.

Seven faculty members from the Georgia Tech School of Electrical and Computer Engineering have been awarded promotion or tenure, effective July 1, 2017.

Jingfan Sun and Maryam Saeedifard had their paper selected as one of the top five for the 2018 Next Generation Grid Network (NGN) Paper Competition.

ECE Associate Professor Maryam Saeedifard has been chosen for the 2018 IEEE Industrial Electronics Society (IES) J. David Irwin Early Career Award.

Recent ECE Ph.D. graduate Heng Yang and his doctoral advisor Maryam Saeedifard have been selected for the IEEE Industrial Electronics Society Best Transactions Paper Award. 

Maryam Saeedifard has been named as the Atlanta IEEE Power and Energy Society (PES) Outstanding Engineer for 2015.

ECE Assistant Professor Maryam Saeedifard received the 2015 Technical Committee Working Group Recognition Award for her paper, “Trends in Microgrid Control,” from the IEEE Power System Dynamic Performance Committee.

The paper proposes a magnetic integration design for electric vehicle (EV) wireless power transfer (WPT) systems.

She is being recognized for her research contributions in “highly-efficient, power-dense and fault-tolerant multilevel converter-based medium-voltage drives.”

The promotion and/or tenure will be effective August 22, 2022.

Six Georgia Tech faculty members were named IEEE Fellows, effective January 1, 2022. They are Ghassan AlRegib, Levent Degertekin, Bonnie Ferri, Arijit Raychowdhury, Maryam Saeedifard, and May Dongmei Wang.

Maryam Saeedifard has been named as the recipient of the 2021 U.S. Clean Energy Education and Empowerment (C3E) Technology Research & Innovation Award.

Maryam Saeedifard has been appointed to the Dean’s Professorship, effective July 1.

Yi Zhang and Maryam Saeedifard won the first place prize paper award for 2020 in the IEEE Transactions on Power Electronics, one of the most impactful journals in the area of power electronics.

ECE Ph.D. student Zhi Jin (Justin) Zhang has been chosen for the prestigious Natural Sciences and Engineering Research Council of Canada Postgraduate Scholarship - Doctoral. 

In 1988, the School of Electrical Engineering at the Georgia Institute of Technology hired Bonnie Ferri as its first female faculty member. The School now has 13 women in its faculty ranks.

ECE Ph.D. student Qianxue Xia received the Oak Ridge National Laboratory (ORNL) Seed Research Award

ECE Associate Professor Maryam Saeedifard has been selected as the recipient of the 2019 IEEE Region 3 Outstanding Engineer Award.

The proposed high-voltage solid-state transformer (SST) offers enhanced flexibility and control for integrating renewable energy sources and electric vehicles in power grids.