Hao's research team is developing an ultra-fast field-programmable gate array system to detect and track particles in high-energy physics experiments.

The inaugural award from MLCommons recognized Ph.D. candidate Zishen Wan as a “Rising Star” in machine learning research.


The use of AI in EDA is a hot topic due to significant progress with applying machine learning to the issues of chip design.

The Georgia Tech Agile Communication Architectures team is one of 30 teams selected to participate in the DARPA Spectrum Collaboration Challenge.

Georgia Tech has received a $12.8 contract award to accelerate detection of network infections.

Georgia Tech researchers are advancing the basic and applied science of machine learning.

Ghassan AlRegib and his research team in the Multimedia and Sensors Laboratory have been chosen to host and run the 2017 IEEE Video and Image Processing (VIP) Cup.

ECE Assistant Professor Mark A. Davenport has been named as one out of 126 U.S. and Canadian researchers, representing eight scientific fields, to receive a 2017 Sloan Research Fellowship.

ECE Ph.D. student Matt O’Shaughnessy has won the prestigious National Defense Science and Engineering Graduate (NDSEG) Fellowship.

Google's head of artificial intelligence visited Georgia Tech on Oct. 1 where he met with students and faculty and gave a presentation to more than 600 attendees.

ECE Ph.D. student Nil Gurel has been invited to attend the 2018 Rising Stars Workshop, hosted by the MIT Department of Electrical Engineering and Computer Science. She also took part in NSF iREDEFINE last spring. 

ECE Ph.D. student Motaz Alfarraj was selected for the Center for Signal and Information Processing (CSIP) Outstanding Service Award for spring semester 2018. 

ECE Associate Professor Mark A. Davenport has been named as the graduate recruitment coordinator for the Georgia Tech School of Electrical and Computer Engineering (ECE), effective May 14.

ECE Assistant Professor Tushar Krishna has been selected for a National Science Foundation (NSF) CISE Research Initiation Initiative Award.

Four Georgia Tech faculty members were named IEEE Fellows, effective January 1, 2018. They are BME Professor Jaydev Desai, ECE Professors Saibal Mukhopadhyay and Justin Romberg, and GTRI Senior Research Engineer Kevin James “Jim” Sangston.

John Lee, Afshin Abdi, and Motaz Alfarraj were presented with Outstanding Research Awards from the Center for Signal and Information Processing (CSIP).

ECE Ph.D. student Sreejith Kochupurackal Rajan received the Best Student Paper Award at the 2019 IEEE International 3D Systems Integration Conference (3DIC), held October 8-10 in Sendai, Japan.

ECE Ph.D. student Bahar Asgari has been selected to participate in Rising Stars 2019, hosted by the University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign.

ECE Associate Professor Shimeng Yu has been named as the recipient of the inaugural Semiconductor Research Corporation (SRC) Young Faculty Award.

ECE Ph.D. student Nil Gurel has been selected to participate in the 2019 NextProf Nexus Workshop, sponsored by the University of Michigan, the University of California at Berkeley, and Georgia Tech.

ECE Assistant Professor Tushar Krishna has been chosen as one of the recipients of Facebook Research's Faculty Award for AI System Hardware/Software Co-Design.

Muya Chang has been selected for the 2019 Chih Foundation Graduate Student Research Award.

ECE Assistant Professor Tushar Krishna has been named as one of the recipients of the Google Faculty Research Award.

ECE Ph.D. student Ananda Samajdar won the silver medal at the ACM Student Research Competition (SRC), held at the 24th ACM International Conference on Architectural Support for Programming Languages and Operating Systems (ASPLOS).

ECE Assistant Professor Tushar Krishna will have two of his recent research papers featured in the IEEE Micro “Top Picks from Computer Architecture Conferences,” to be published in the May/June 2019 issue.

The School of Electrical and Computer Engineering (ECE) and the Georgia Tech Research Institute (GTRI) are pleased to announce the appointment of Stephen E. Ralph to the Glen Robinson Chair in Electro-Optics at GTRI, effective February 1, 2020.

Matthieu Bloch has been appointed as associate chair for Graduate Affairs in the Georgia Tech School of Electrical and Computer Engineering (ECE), effective January 1, 2021.

ECE and BME Ph.D. student Mohammad S.E. Sendi will participate in the Global Young Scientists Summit, which will take place virtually January 12-15, 2021 from Singapore.

ECE Ph.D. students Brian Crafton, Samuel Spetalnick, and Gauthaman Murali and their faculty advisors won the Best Paper Award at this year's IFIP/IEEE International Conference on Very Large Scale Integration (VLSI SoC 2020).

ECE Assistant Professor Asif Khan has been named as a recipient of the 2020 Intel Rising Star Award.

Distinguished University Professor of Psychology Vince Calhoun has been named director of the Center for Advanced Brain Imaging (CABI), a joint venture between Georgia State University and the Georgia Institute of Technology.

Manos Antonakakis has been appointed to the Dean’s Professorship, effective June 1, 2020. 

ECE Ph.D. students Charles Topliff and Joanne Truong have been named as recipients of the 2020 National Defense Science and Engineering Graduate (NDSEG) Fellowships.

A $1.5 million gift from Intel establishes a new research center dedicated to machine-learning cybersecurity -- the analytics behind malware detection and threat analysis.

Georgia Tech is taking on computing's biggest challenges as it launches two new IRIs.

The Center for Advanced Electronics through Machine Learning (CAEML) seeks to accelerate advances by leveraging machine-learning techniques to develop new models for electronic design automation (EDA) tools create and verify chip designs for market.

The meeting was held November 16-18 at the CODA Building in Atlanta.