Updates on the campus response to coronavirus (COVID-19)

Eta Kappa Nu Wins Outstanding Chapter Award for Sixth Straight Year

For the sixth year in a row, the Beta Mu Chapter of Eta Kappa Nu (HKN) at the Georgia Institute of Technology has been named a recipient of the Outstanding Chapter Award by the organization's national office. Beta Mu is one of 23 chapters from across the U.S. to receive this honor.

A mark of great distinction, this award recognizes a chapter's service to their fellow students, school, university, and the surrounding community during 2009-10. The award will be formally presented at the Electrical and Computer Engineering Department Heads Association Annual Meeting in March 2010 in Phoenix, Ariz.

HKN is one of the largest honor societies in the country, with nearly 200 university chapters, a variety of committees, many active member volunteers, and thousands of student members. The number of chapters receiving the Outstanding Chapter Award six years in a row is seven, including the Beta Mu chapter of Georgia Tech.

"This is a tremendous achievement for our chapter of Eta Kappa Nu, which has been led this past year by Aakash Degwekar and Sean McGee, and their advisor, Professor Tom Gaylord," said Gary S. May, Steve W. Chaddick School Chair of ECE. "This award is once again very well deserved, and we all appreciate their hard work and dedication to making ECE and Georgia Tech a better place."

Last revised May 15, 2020