Updates on the campus response to coronavirus (COVID-19)

Ayari Chosen for European MRS Young Scientist Award

Atlanta, GA
Taha Ayari

Taha Ayari

Download Image

Taha Ayari won the Young Scientist Award at the 2018 European Materials Research Society Meeting, held June 18-22 in Strasbourg, France. Based at Georgia Tech-Lorraine (GT-L), Ayari is a Ph.D. student in the Georgia Tech School of Electrical and Computer Engineering (ECE) and is advised by Abdallah Ougazzaden, an ECE professor and GT-L director.

Ayari was recognized for his paper, “Van der Waal Epitaxy investigation of GaN-based materials on 2D h-BN by MOVPE for high performance opto-electronic devices.” This work is devoted to a Metalorganic Vapor Phase Epitaxy (MOVPE) growth study of GaN-based materials on 2D h-BN. Supported by the French Agence Nationale de la Recherche (the French equivalent of the National Science Foundation in the United States), this project aims to demonstrate high performance nitride-based flexible optoelectronics that can be used in LEDs, solar cells, and high-electron-mobility transistors (HEMTs). This research would also have direct applications in flexible displays, wearable sensors, and InGaN-based tandem solar cells.

Ayari’s coauthors on the paper were Ougazzaden; Suresh Sundaram and Jean Paul Salvestrini, of GT-L and GT-CNRS UMI 2958, a lab focusing on research in non-linear optics and dynamics, smart materials, and computer science; Saiful Alam and Paul Voss, of the School of ECE at Georgia Tech and GT-CNRS UMI 2958; Adama Mballo and Yacine Halfaya, of GT-CNRS UMI 2958; and Simon Gautier, of Institut Lafayette, an organization promoting technology transfer from GT-L research labs and transatlantic industrial research and development opportunities in the optoelectronics sector.

Last revised June 27, 2018