Updates on the campus response to coronavirus (COVID-19)

Papapolymerou Wins IEEE John Kraus Antenna Award

John Papapolymerou and his colleagues have been selected for the 2010 John Kraus Antenna Award, which is given by the IEEE Antennas and Propagation Society.

The team was recognized "for contributions in the integration and design of reconfigurable multiband antennas with RF MEMS switches over a wide band frequency range (8-25 GHz)." Providing wide frequency range with low power consumption and small size, this antenna can be used in a variety of multiband and reconfigurable wireless communication systems, radars, and sensors. The antenna can also be applied to Software-Defined-Radio and other multifunctional radio systems.

Dr. Papapolymerou's collaborators on this project include a recent Ph.D. graduate of his research group, Guizhen Zheng, who now works with Intel, and a former postdoctoral fellow from his team, Dimitris Anagnostou, who is now on the ECE faculty at the South Dakota School of Mines and Technology. His third collaborator, Christos Christodoulou, is on the ECE faculty at the University of New Mexico. They will receive this award at the IEEE International Symposium on Antennas and Propagation and the 2010 CNC/USNC/URSI National Radio Science Meeting, which will be held July 11-17 in Toronto. Established in 2003 by Professor John Kraus, this award recognizes an individual or a group who has made an exceptional contribution to the field of antennas through innovation.

A faculty member in the Georgia Tech School of Electrical and Computer Engineering since 2001, Dr. Papapolymerou specializes in electromagnetics and electronic design and applications.

Last revised May 15, 2020