Updates on the campus response to coronavirus (COVID-19)

Sivakumar Selected for Ken Byers Professorship

Atlanta, GA

Raghupathy Sivakumar has been appointed as the Ken Byers Professor in the School of Electrical and Computer Engineering (ECE) at Georgia Tech, effective November 1. This title was previously held by ECE Professor Anthony J. Yezzi. 

Sivakumar joined the Georgia Tech ECE faculty in 2000, where he leads the Georgia Tech Networks and Mobile Computing Research Group. He and his current team of six graduate students develop algorithms and protocols for wireless networks and mobile computing. Sivakumar has graduated 20 Ph.D. and M.S. students, and has published over 125 refereed journal and conference papers and book chapters with his students and faculty colleagues. He has served on the editorial boards of the IEEE Transactions on Mobile Computing, Elsevier Computer Networks Journal, ACM/Baltzer Wireless Networks Journal, and the ACM Mobile Computing and Communications Review.

While at Tech, Sivakumar has been active in entrepreneurial activities. He is the co-founder and CTO at StarMobile, Inc., a venture-backed enterprise mobility technology start-up that mobilizes enterprise applications at a fraction of the cost and time of other approaches in the market. He also was the founder and CTO of Asankya, Inc., a venture-backed enterprise application optimization start-up that was acquired by EMC Corporation in 2011.

This fall, Sivakumar has launched the Center for Engineering and Technology Entrepreneurship (CREATE), an exciting new student-focused entrepreneurship initiative that will be available to all Georgia Tech students. Startup Lab, a new course on startup basics, is being offered in Spring 2014 through CREATE.  Sivakumar has also served as associate director of the Georgia Tech Broadband Institute from 2006-2012 and is a co-PI for the GT I/UCRC Center on Optical Wireless Applications.

Sivakumar is a past recipient of the ECE Outstanding Junior Faculty Member Award, and has won several best paper awards at conferences such as ACM MobiCom, IEEE International Conference on Network Protocols, and IEEE/Createnet Broadnets.

Last revised May 15, 2020